All South African ability, even your high school grades, are ranked in NQF levels. They go from 1 to 7.

This is just a standard national qualification framework that people can use to differentiate between all the qualifications out there. Employers use it to scout for employees with specific levels of education.

Some jobs require level 3, while other require level 7.

Here’s how the rating works:

Matric qualifications are a NQF level 3.

Certificate qualifications are usually level 4 or 5.

Diploma qualifications earns you a level 6.

Degree qualifications are usually level 7.